Interviews

LAURIE FOOS: THE GREATEST FABULIST YOU MAY NOT KNOW YET
The Southeast Review Online
by Holly Wilson
Sometimes you stumble across a writer whose brilliance seems like a well-kept industry secret. Laurie Foos is one such writer. A contemporary fabulist, she writes in the tradition of Ionesco and Kafka. Her work is darkly comic and tragic, twisted in all of the best ways. Recently, Holly Wilson tracked Foos down for the Southeast Review to ask her about her work. Hopefully you’ve already heard of Foos, but, if not, read the interview, buy her books, and live a little in her wonderfully mad interiors . . . > MORE

AN INTERVIEW WITH LAURIE FOOS
citypaper.net
by Remi Newman
Laurie Foos is 27, married, has a husky Long Island accent, and has yet to bear children. She’s been dubbed the “unholy love-child of Franz Kafka and Erica Jong.” Her debut novel, Ex Utero, tells the story of Rita, who has the unfortunate experience of misplacing her uterus — in the mall, of all places. A local women’s activist group, The Fruitless Wombs,takes on her plight, getting her a spot on a syndicated talk show. Soon, finding Rita’s womb becomes a matter of concern for the nation . . . > MORE

THE WRITER’S CHRONICLE
by Jorge Armenteros
I’ll be perfectly honest and tell you that I have no adequate answer to why I write the way that I do. Writing fiction that departs from reality in some way is not intentional for me; it’s not a precept I impose upon the work. It’s simply what comes out of me. . . . > MORE